-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"quotes"

My brother knows someone on the city council and she came here to look at the "project site" which is what my yard is now being called.

More like a potential crime scene with tape and flags all over the place.

She told the city that the sidewalk either needs to be moved to the other side of the street or just to abandon the sidewalk project altogether.

Apparently, she has the power to stop this from moving forward. It's on hold now, but I don't know what the final outcome will be.

I am kind of in shock that this lady on the city council took such an interest and is taking our side. But I'm thankful.

Maybe things will work out for us. I'm not opposed to a sidewalk, but I don't see why they have to rape my land and permanently ruin my property to put one in. They don't. And it's an amazing feeling to have someone take our side for a change.

Honestly, I don't think this has ever happened.

There could be a win-win here. Sidewalk and we get to keep our yard and driveway, but for some reason the egos of the planning department wouldn't listen to common sense. I guess they can't hear so well with their heads up their own asses.

So, for now I'm still in limbo, but I'm trying to be in the now and take any small victory I can. There was supposed to be a "meeting" today where the planning people and an engineer were supposed to come to the house and "listen" to our concerns. It would just be us telling them they are fucked up and them being too pig-headed to even listen. But since the project is immediately on hold until they can come up with a better plan...I don't have to go through that farce today either.

All my plants are doing really good this year, and it's been making me sick thinking of having to uproot them and find not as ideal locations for them elsewhere or to maybe even just have to give them away.

Literally. Ever since I got the first notice in the mail, I've been puking my guts out on a regular basis. I thought maybe I had the "stomach flu" or something, but it keeps happening. I think it's "just" stress. I've also barely slept. And when I do, it's non-stop nightmares.

I never thought they would pull eminent domain on a house in the middle of the city for something as stupid as a two block sidewalk that goes nowhere. I always heard of it happening to farms to put in a highway or other places to put in pipelines.

I don't think I'll ever be taken in by the scam of "owning" land again. There is no such thing as real ownership. Almost everything in life is a scam. And I'm sick of buying into it. I don't mind taking care of this place, but I'm actually glad my brother owns it and not me. If he ever died and left it to me, I am not sure what I would do. I hope that's a long way off, but I've been worried all this sidewalk stress on top of his already high stress life was going to give him the widowmaker heart attack. He's OK for now.

12:48 PM - Tuesday, May. 23, 2023

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry