-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

not the kitchen sink

The worst part about living in a house is when things break down. We had to get the furnace repaired, that went fine. We are still looking to get the bathroom sink repaired. It's ancient, they don't make parts for it anymore, and neither hot or cold will turn off so we had to turn off the water at the stops. Now it's leaking under the floor from the pipes and there's a big puddle of water in the basement. We are having a hell of time getting any plumber to get here and even look at it.

We had one estimate at $700, but the guy said he'd have to punch a hole in the wall and he wouldn't repair it. We finally got our second estimate and it's an outrageous $1800!!!! The difference there makes me just sick.

Later I have to get my list of plumbers out again and try again to call. I left tons of messages, only 2 ever got back to me. I'm hoping now that the holidays are over, we might get someone willing to do some work.

It's been a real nuisance not having a working sink in the bathroom and now the dripping into the basement is stressing me out. It's an unfinished basement, so it's not like there's any real damage yet, but a leaking pipe is not good.

I know it's not my house, but I live here, and I don't want it to fall apart under my watch. That's how I feel. My brother gave me money out of the funds left by my mom and dad to take care of the house, so we can get it fixed and it won't be a burden to us...

I don't know how my youngest brother got to be the only one in my family that is good with money. I guess my mom and dad were pretty good at handling money too. Me and my oldest two brothers though...not so much.

I don't know why I always have to get more stressed out than is necessary on like, everything. Any little issue and my mind instantly goes into meltdown mode. I guess that's what anxiety is all about.

I am responding today with donuts and coffee. I will try to do Jane Fonda later. That sounds really awful, but she says that in her video. "Just tell people you're doing Jane..." It's a kind of sick. But I guess it makes me laugh.

With all the focus on the bathroom lately I decided to make a painting to hang in there. I intended it to be just a quick abstract thing of a person throwing up, but I got hyperfocused on the details and it's actually a pretty nice painting. I'll still hang it in the bathroom, though.

I don't remember the last time I left the house....

11:36 AM - Thursday, Jan. 05, 2023

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry