-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Fat Ass"

Suddenly
I have gotten fat
and domesticated
like a gorilla in a zoo
nothing to do
but watch TV and pound
my mighty fist
on the plexi-glass that
separates
me from
those that watch me.
There is always an audience
when you least want one
and there is never anyone around
when you need them to be.
Lately
I have taken some initiative
I have been exercising
jumping around
like an idiot
like a Mexican jumping bean
and it's only been a few days
of this
but I must say
that I have already grown
to hate
Jane Fonda
and her striped leotard
and her leg warmers
and her dance routines
designed to burn marbled
fat
deep in my muscles
like I am some
prime grade
beef cow.
It is nature's revenge.
You are not supposed to be
eating dairy
when you are an adult
milk is designed to turn
a 90 pound calf
into a 2,000 pound heifer
but the mathematics work the same
on human beings.
We all just want that
mother's milk
we want the comfort
we can't get
or never had so bad
we are willing to steal it.
Well maybe
the cows
would forgive me if they could
because they're enlightened
because a life lived in terror
and at war can
do that but
I don't think
I should
forgive myself and I hope
they
never find out
what I've been a party to.
They made us dissect
cows eyes
in the second grade
and that stare still
haunts me.
You know in movies
when women are upset
they always show them
crying into a
giant noggin sized
bowl of
ice cream.
Hollywood can go fuck itself.
Do you think if we got
everyone in California
to do the pogo
at the same time
would it finally fall into the ocean
and
would we finally be free
or would tinsel town just
spring up someplace else
in the lower 48
like Seattle, Washington
or Denver, Colorado
80203.
Is this big-screen illusion something
we have been told we need
or is it something we actually do?
I wonder if the zookeepers
gave
the captured obese primates
home work-out videos
to do
would they have
too much self respect
to actually do them,
would they demand
instead
documentaries on
factory farming
and light romantic
comedies so when
they were given their
ice cream
they would finally
be able to
have a really good
cry?

28 December 2022

2:12 PM - Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2022

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry