-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

lettuce poppy

Had weird dreams all night. One was the abandoned property down the street was turned into some half way house and they had the entire front yard as gardens. I got a garden catalog yesterday and was flipping through it after breakfast and then I decided to go through our seeds and make some plans for the spring.

I am still really sad that we had to turn the garden into yard, but I know I can't do much in the way for gardening right now. At least I can just mow it and keep the city off my back this way. It really was a jungle. I am totally shocked that no one called the city to complain. They would have in Roch.

I just gave away a bag full of old seeds. Ones we saved from our garden back in Roch and some my mom had here from 2017 and some I bought last year that I never planted. I got some veggie seeds, but that just didn't happen, and I really want to make sure I don't over extend myself this year, either. I hope that lady that took the seeds can get some of them to grow.

This year I am mostly just planting some annual flowers and herbs in the containers we have full of dirt already. I am planning on cutting the bottoms out of some window boxes I found, as a make shift little raised bed, and growing morning glories up the fence next to the honeysuckle.

I also want to make some small raised beds so I can grow my poppy plants. I did find a lot of the poppy seeds my mom sent many years back. I thought they were all gone, but I found them stuck in with the veggie seeds. I don't know if they will grow, but I want to mix them in with other poppy seeds and try. It was a nice surprise.

I am thinking I will try to make the raised beds this year, by fall, and do a fall planting of the poppies instead of trying to do it all in spring. I just won't have the energy because I know I am going to have to make these raised beds myself. There should be plenty of scrap wood in the garage, and I don't have to make them very deep, but I know I am going to have to do this all by myself.

I do not ask my husband to help with anything anymore. I just don't bother. I am not very good with saws and hammers and all that, but I will just take my time and get it done when I get it done, I guess.

I would like to have a little bed of poppies here eventually. They used to be all over in the garden here and it was really nice. It is a really nice treat by the end of summer to have a little fresh, raw opium to help relieve some of the stress that summer always brings.

I am sure some people think that's just awful. Like I'm some strung out opium addict or something. But it's a seasonal herbal indulgence. I like it. I won't ever have enough to be addicted. And once it's gone for the year, it is gone. Plus the flowers are lovely and the bees and other pollinators love them too.

Aside from the raised bed, which I may or may not do, the little window boxes, and the direct sow of flowers, it's just the normal upkeep for the plants this year. Mowing and weeding the few beds that are around. I shouldn't have much else to do, so I think that will be just fine. I really got hurt and wore myself out last year trying to save what I could out of the garden and find homes for things in other parts of the yard. I really want to be able to take it easier this year.

Doctors appointment tomorrow. Looking forward to it being over. That's all. I hope I don't walk out there saying that is the last time I try going to a doctor. Every time I go to a doctor, that's what I say to myself, but I keep on going. I must be insane.

2:28 PM - Wednesday, Feb. 02, 2022

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry