-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

no one cares

I just watched a youtube video from Curiosity Inc. It seems the Potters house they cleared the hoard out of and lovingly restored was trashed within 18 months by their tenants. It's heartbreaking. Alex, the man that owns the house and owns the antique store said exactly that. I thought he was going to start crying.

I don't know why it bothers me so much. It's common knowledge that the world is full of messed up people that don't give a damn about anyone. I watched that Potters house series a few times. I even got my husband to watch with me before his meth psychosis took over completely. Watching them work on that house really helped me with bad times I was going through, and to see what happened to that house is like a punch in the gut.

I don't know if anyone else knows what I'm talking about or even cares. It's just a little part of my life. You watch these videos and you get to know these people a little bit. You see them make new friends that help them from project to project after that. And they all seem like very nice people. Real Christians. And I don't mean that in a sarcastic way, I am being sincere.

They are going to fix up the house the best they can and try to finally sell it. I can't believe no one wanted it from the get go. I was shocked about that then, but I guess it's true with real estate that it's all location, location, location. Now they have to do a hillbilly tune-up and take a loss on it. They tried so hard to make it period accurate and keep personal little touches, like mint green walls and using curtains from the original owner. And now it's back to square one.

I don't miss being a landlord. And I never want to have to live in a rental again. Being here in my family home isn't exactly a dream come true, but I know it could be so much worse. I get to live in a house yet not have to feel the full brunt of ownership. This is a very unique situation I am in, and I'll try to be more thankful.

7:04 PM - Thursday, Jul. 22, 2021

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry