-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

long days

I drove basically all night long to get to Iowa from Colorado. It wasn't easy at all. I don't want to travel any time soon and I sure don't want to move.

Today I deep cleaned the bathroom in my house. My parents' old house. It was beyond filthy. Still not perfect, needs to be painted and a little plumbing work done (there's no hot water for the tub so I got to take a cold bath today) but it feels a lot better in there. I opened the window. Getting fresh air in this house is making a big difference.

While I was cleaning the floor I kept thinking " This is where my dad died." I don't know if I felt much about it. It's just a fact. I don't know why it matters how someone dies, because we all will.

No one cares how someone was born. It's just a given that you shoot out or they rip you out and on it goes.

After cleaning my brother took me to a health food store because he was going anyway and offered me a ride. That was really nice of him. It's really nice to have that kind of support because it's been a long time.

Then my husband and I went to a local place for fries and what's basically dairy queen and went to a park to see the woods. It's so beautiful here. So many trees. So green. So humid. The total opposite of Colorado, which is dry, inhospitable, harsh.

I am thankful to be alive and to be here now.

6:38 PM - Saturday, Sept. 12, 2020

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry