-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

appropriation

Drove out to Dodge Center today to get a haul of (mostly) African artifacts. Like, huge wooden masks over two feet tall with pointy horns and teeth and little figurines and mirrors and stuff. Not sure why. I wouldn't normally opt to drive out to the hick towns, especially in winter, but this was a ton of cool stuff. I'd take photos, but for some reason d-land isn't working on showing photos. Maybe it's just me.

But I have to wonder why, when I also have about 4 trash bags full of donations that need to get taken in. I am great at getting rid of things, I just have to learn to stop accumulating.

Lately I have really been seeing how the programming we all get when we are younger affects us our entire lives unless we consciously make the effort to change. Everyone gets something different. It makes it almost impossible to understand another person. I don't understand how anyone lives with anyone else without killing them in their sleep.

I was freaking out the entire trip there and back. It's a forsaken wasteland out there. I don't know who sees a place like that and thinks....this shithole is where I am going to raise my family. You can't grow up in a place like that, you just grow old. And then die. And come into Rochester for everything you need, because there is NOTHING there. Really, what's the point? It's not the country, it's not the city, it's the worst of both. Like this town, only in miniature.

I really fucking hate it here. I am so done with polar vortexes and blizzards with names and "Minnesota nice" (which is just a regional excuse to be an asshole in a really polite way). It's supposed to be like, 60 degrees in Denver all next week. I remember when we lived in Colorado, you barely even needed a winter coat.

So, we are going to haul these huge scary masks with us from place to place forever now? Maybe one will fall off the wall and kill one of us. Wouldn't that be nice.

7:17 PM - Tuesday, Jan. 21, 2020

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry