-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

summation

OK, so watching youtube videos of people "decluttering" their space. It's disturbing watching one after another. I don't know why I bother. It's just a distraction. But, I've realized a few things.

1. Americans are spoiled, rich, and creepily same-y. I know that these videos are just a small segment of the population, but I definitely get a Us VS Them vibe from these people. Maybe it's in my head. I was totally raised a class warrior, for good or bad. I know that's my programming, but I can't say I don't agree with most of it. I know not all rich people are bad...but most people are bad, no matter their economic status.

Maybe because almost everyone I know is very poor, or grew up poor, at the very least, that I have trouble relating to these videos. These videos aren't for people like me. I don't know anyone with huge walk in wrap around closets and shoe shelves that go from floor to ceiling. Most of the people in my life are middle class or below. They are making it from paycheck to paycheck or they are standing in line at Sals for free food every day and sleeping in the woods in snowstorms.

How many of these videos are of women with WAY too much make up on drinking a starbucks and starting their video with the phrase "Hey guys....!" ??? All of them. Every single one. Even the few with men, the same goes for them.

2. I have WAY less stuff than any of these people, and I still feel like I have too much. I think in a past life I was a monk. Or maybe it's just a reaction from seeing the aftermath of my mom and dad's hoarding recently. The amount of things the people in these videos keep is more than I have to begin with. I think there is a serious epidemic in this country of very sad people trying to fill voids with more voids.

I lost my train of thought. Shit is fucked up. That's about it.

6:43 PM - Friday, Jan. 17, 2020

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry