-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

one year ago today

One year ago my dad passed away.

He had MS for 37 years. He was very ill. And he was heartbroken after the death of my mom. In many ways, it was a blessing he didn't have to linger on any longer than he did.

I miss both him and my mom more than I ever thought I would. Mostly it's the timing that makes it so hard. How I was going to finally visit them after 15+ years of being away, and a few months before that could happen, they both die.

I like this photo of me and my dad from the very early 1980s. We both look happy.

Ever since I was a little kid, I've been trying to find that easygoing, spontaneous happiness that used to come so easily. Things got bad so early on. And it just kept getting worse.

Just trying to enjoy the few moments of joy in life. They are fleeting. They are gone too quickly.

They are what keeps us all going on. Just hoping that all the joy in life is not entirely gone.

12:08 PM - Monday, Feb. 04, 2019

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry