-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

escape from a backyard butcher

Last antibiotic taken now. I don't feel much different. A little better. Not much. It has been about 20 years since I've been sick enough to resort to antibiotics.

My husband's mother said she also had a sinus infection and had to take antibiotics for it. The first time for her in 38 years. She blames the red tide. She lives in Florida.

I went to the store today, and when I got out to the car I just stood there staring at it for a few moments.

It was covered in ash. I hadn't driven since Tuesday, and in the space of 4 days, there was so much ash on the car that you could write your name in it.

I had to clean the windshield twice just to be able to see well enough to drive.

We have been getting smoke for months. Fires in Northern Minnesota. Fires in North Dakota. The world is on fire. Smoke blocks out the sun and you can see the particulate matter falling from the sky. It's not rain. Or snow. It's the ashes of hope.

I was really in denial that my sinus issues were environmental. I do think I had a bacterial infection, but I also think that smoke and particulate matter and the new plastic dresser and the moldy MDF shelving in the basement were all combining to one huge health issue.

I don't want things to be this way. I have no control over what is happening, and it's extremely frightening.

No matter how well I try to eat, or exercise, or take care of my home and my environment, in the end, I am at the mercy of this society, and that pretty much means I am fucked.

How can the people of earth be healthy when the earth itself is dying?

12:53 PM - Saturday, Oct. 27, 2018

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry