-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

fur fucts sake

I have donated about 6 large black garbage bags of t-shirts to thrift stores since my parents passed away. I still have about 8 bags worth in my house. I am trying to go through them. Some, saving for us to wear for later (we will never have to buy a t-shirt again), some for my quilt project, some for my brother's quilts, and the rest I am going to try to sell.

I've already sold lots of children's shirts on eBay. They all sold in one day. Madness. People really want vintage shirts, I guess, which is good for me since I all of the sudden seem to be in the vintage t-shirt business.

I don't understand why my parents had so many t-shirts. Yes, that is pretty much all they wore. T-shirts and jeans. They were retired and that's great. But, my mother also had THREE closets full of dressier clothes as well. You see that all spread out on a bed and it's insane. I was worried the bed was going to break!

I found triplicates and even sets of 4 of the SAME SHIRT. I had to leave some t-shirts behind, because I just couldn't take on anymore.

I can not fully understand the mindset of a hoarder or a collector. If I can't use something, I usually don't keep it around unless it has very specific emotional attachment for me. I don't have many things like that. People don't give me things. Unless you count sorrow.

I've seen the TV show 'Hoarders' and over the past 6 months I have been in my own fucked up version of that show with going through my parents' belongings.

My house looks like a vintage hipster store and it's driving me a little crazy.

So much for my old desire to die with a negative amount of THINGS.

In the end, our things are all we are worth, apparently.

I never ever thought I'd be the kind of person with diamonds and emeralds and opals and sapphires and that expensive queen of england shit, but I now have about 4 jewelry boxes full of that sort of thing. And I only took about a quarter of the amount that was offered to me! The weird thing is...my mom NEVER wore any jewelry but her wedding ring! She just liked the bling bling and kept it all in their original boxes for the most part.

I could use a little trip. There's like 6 ounces of magic mushrooms in my house. Maybe it will help me figure out what the hell I'm going to do here.

Seriously. I married a fucking drug hoarder.

Too bad you can't die from an overdose of hallucinogens.

There are too many people in my head, not enough in my bed, and I think the scales need to be dismantled and sold for scrap.

And with that nonsense I'll go eat some homemade salsa with a spoon. Ain't got no chips.

3:17 PM - Saturday, Aug. 11, 2018

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry