-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

trigger

There was some homeless guy living on the curb for about a week. He was the kind of crazy that is constantly talking to himself and talking to anyone unfortunate enough to walk anywhere near him, but he makes absolutely no sense. He was carrying buckets around with him and the last day I saw him he was sitting on the curb washing clothes and wearing really short shorts.

That night I had nightmares all night that he was trying to break into our house with a tire iron and the cops were taking forever to get here, then I dreamed about zombies all night. I woke up and said to myself that if he was still camped out on the street I'd call the cops but he was gone. I hope he stays gone.

Yesterday some crazy lady was screaming and turning around and around in circles in the middle of the street and kept going up to the crack house and then back to the street yelling the whole time. I couldn't understand a word she said, either. She had a full backpack and a huge hobo type purse, which is pretty much what all the drug sluts that hang out around here carry with them. They live out of their bags and wander around looking for some druggo to let them stay with them for awhile. There are several of them here.

This lady yesterday however had a brick in her hand. I was watching from the kitchen window to see if she was going to throw it through a car window or a house window at the crack house, but she eventually wandered down the street and was gone too.

This neighborhood is pretty awful and it's all because the drug addicts across the street run their house like some sort of shelter. Homeless people sleep in tents in their back yard, and it's like every doper in North Des Moines goes there for drugs.

Between the crack house and the "drug store" (clothing store) that opened at the end of our street, it's pretty much non stop foot, bike, and car traffic of fucking assholes.

I don't want to live here, and although I keep trying to be thankful, being here makes me really down. And anxious. It's so triggering. The last week here it's felt like we were living in Denver again.

Except we have a fence and no sidewalk. Thank goodness for that.

I keep finding myself wishing my husband would have listened to me and we could have just moved across town back in Roch. But I know that we can't afford to live anywhere but here. At least not until I make some serious life changes.

1:41 PM - Tuesday, Jun. 20, 2023

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry