-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

thankful

Just got an email from the city planner stating that the sidewalk project "will not be moving forward". We are supposed to get an official letter retracting all the shit they sent us before.

I can't believe this, I am shocked. Totally shocked.

And happy. Relieved.

It's too bad that government only works for those in power or those that know someone in power. I guess in this case, it worked out for us, since my brother has a prior relationship with the city councilwoman of our ward and she was able to see how stupid this original plan was and put a stop to it before they came and raped my land.

I was out yesterday weeding the flower beds on that side of the property. I had pretty much given up in despair since I got the original letter back in March and thought why weed when I'm just going to have to move everything anyway? The weeds were almost as tall as the bushes.

My hands are are rubbed raw, I guess the gloves I have suck. Really suck. My hands really hurt. But I just wanted to take care of the plants and hope for the best.

I also took out all the markers they had put in when they came to show us how they had surveyed it. It was like looking at a crime scene and it was making me ill. I guess maybe in the back of my mind I am more optimistic than I give myself credit for.

Ever since I got the original letter I've been throwing up regularly. I don't usually do that, unless I have stomach flu or something. Even when I get really drunk, I rarely throw up. As soon as I heard this was on hold I haven't puked once, and I have been eating like crap, so I guess it was just stress.

I'm still wary they might try this again in the future, but maybe they can come up with a more reasonable plan by then, or they can just forget about it. It's been this way since the neighborhood was made 80+ years ago. And there is a sidewalk half way across on the other side of the avenue already, so I'm not sure why they didn't just plan on finishing that, instead of putting one on this side for two blocks that goes nowhere, and that people would have to cross the street back and forth further down to stay on a sidewalk at all...

I have to mow the grass today. It's hard work, we have a yard like a soccer field, but it makes me feel better knowing that I won't have to see it all destroyed and have bulldozers sitting right next to my house for months on end.

They wanted to take our land literally all the way up to the house!

They wanted to put in a retaining wall too, which is awful, since my neighbor down the way just got one put in, and the day after it was up, there were crack heads sitting on it just hanging out. My yard would have been like a waiting room for the shit heads across the street more than it already is.

I can't believe I got some good news.

I am very thankful.

11:44 AM - Friday, Jun. 09, 2023

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry