-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

totally rando

Friday. Clean the cat boxes day. My husband cleans her fountain, food bowls. I clean the litter boxes and wash the litter mats. It used to be the other way around, but somehow it got switched. It's on Fridays because of my schedule at the hotel. I would work and my husband would clean the cat stuff. Now him helping do half of the work once a week is about the only thing I can get him to do at all, and even then sometimes I have to do it all.

Mostly I worked Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays every week unless things were going badly and then I'd work Thursdays too and when things got even worse I'd work on Wednesdays as well, but only in the summer. All I had to do was ask my boss if I could start working this or go back to just weekends and she always gave me what I asked for. They were so desperate for help, especially help that could work hard. It was one of the few things good about that job.

In winter it go so slow that I didn't work for weeks at a time. Especially during the holidays. I never complained about it, but it did make things tight sometimes. All the full time people were expected to use their PTO to get a full weeks pay in the winter and work all through the summer with no time off.

People who came to the Mayo Clinic and stayed at the hotel wanted to spend their holidays with people they cared about, they did not wan to spend their holidays traveling to Minnesota in the winter to have cancer treatments or heart surgery or even to stop smoking or to come to their "burnt out CEO" retreats they offered. (That's not what they were officially called, but that's what they were.)

We keep cat clean up day on Fridays still so the cat has some sense of routine. She expects it. I think routine is instinctual in most animals. It's part of why stray animals are so sad, because their day to day life is so erratic they lose any security that routine can give. It's like living in a war zone-- never knowing what day to day will bring. Never being able to rely on a thing. Having that lack drive you slowly insane. It happens to people, too.

I guess yesterday was a holiday. I haven't celebrated it in decades. No one in my family called or stopped by or invited us over. Having vegetarians around for Thanksgiving is like everyone's worst nightmare. I didn't expect anything, but it is disappointing that my family has zero emotions about anyone or anything. All of them. If they do, they swallow it all or cover it up with substance abuse.

The only people who said anything to me are the nice ppl here on Diaryland.

I hate this time of year. It's awkward not celebrating anything, ever. People used to ask me how my Christmas was and I'd just shrug and say "Fine." I don't believe in anything, so it's pointless to fake celebrate anything. No one in my family gives a shit, I have no friends IRL and I have no religion so yeah...I haven't celebrated a damn thing since I was in my 20s. And even then it felt forced and fake.

We had some snow and cold but now it's in the 50s again and it's sunny and warm. I miss real winter instead of this new normal of back and forth hot cold hot cold and no snow. I have warm coats and scarves and sweaters and flannels but I hardly can ever wear them because it's never cold enough for me to.

Living here is depressing, but I'm doing everything I can to make the best of it. Even if the weather says otherwise, it is winter now, so I need to get to work on my writing, which is what I told myself I'd do this winter.

2:47 PM - Friday, Nov. 25, 2022

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry