-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

shave your head and start again

I come across these sites about how to dress your best, like color analysis and dress your truth, which is based on 4 types of "personality".

I don't know why I even look at these things since I've never been one to like it when people tell me what to do or what to wear or give me shit for what I wear.

It's that last one, I think. I can't even recall how many times I've been teased, bullied, or just treated weird for what I was wearing. I realize now it really affected my already low self-esteem, especially when it comes to my appearance.

I can't even remember how many times people have called me ugly to my face. Like that is ever an OK thing to say to anyone. People tell you things often enough, lots of people, random people in all different sorts of situations, you start to believe it.

Usually after looking into these clothing guru sites I get pissed off. They are bullshit. Rich (mostly) white women with self esteem issues getting makeovers in some particular style and all of the sudden they are supposed to be transformed into some amazing beauty.

I was contemplating all this shit and thinking over all the expectations that women have across the world and in this country. And I thought of all the abuse I've gotten in my life about my appearance and I was thinking this and that, one thought leading to another.

Then I saw videos about the riots in Iran over the Morality Police beating women to death for not wearing their hijabs or whatever else they deemed inappropriate. The country is on fire with riots in all the streets. I really hope women will gain some freedom there and especially stop getting murdered for not wearing a head covering!

And I suddenly realize that I definitely take certain things for granted. And being teased in school is a lot different than being forced to wear something every single day for the rest of my life or face a horrible, brutal death.

And I realize how much I deeply hate religion. Any and all religion, as it is the cause of almost all the strife in the world. Between religion and mineral rites, there's not much hope for peace.

I also saw a video of the mass exodus of younger Russian men out of the country so they won't get drafted. Many leaving their families behind. It reminded me of months ago when Russia first invaded Ukraine and the women and children were having to run for their lives, often leaving the men in their families behind. And how many of the men left in Ukraine were preparing to get trained to fight in the war.

I'd say it's ironic, but it's just beyond sad.

It's all disheartening. Women worrying about what shade of eye shadow to wear is really at the fucking bottom of the list of things anyone should be caring about in this day and age.

1:13 PM - Wednesday, Oct. 05, 2022

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry