-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ashes

My husband's half sister called recently and let him know they were spreading his dad's ashes later that day. I was under the impression that was done last year, and I'm not sure why they waited a year to do that, but it could just be another instance of my misunderstanding every single thing that is said.

It was nice of her to let him know, but it's also very much like her to wait until a few hours before something is happening to let us know and then expect us to be able to switch gears and do something about it.

There was some sort of video conference thingy where it was going to be televised. I think she said it was Zoom, but I don't know how to do that, and neither does my husband and it was way too stressful to sit down and try to figure that out in a matter of an hour so that he could be part of that. I offered to try and help him figure it out, but that's a pretty empty offer because I have zero ability to figure out new tech. I would have tried, but I would have failed.

They got permission to spread the ashes in Kachemak Bay up there in Alaska, on the Homer spit. It's very appropriate, since I remember my father in law went there all the time to de-stress and he had his solstice parties there. My father in law was such a troubled individual in life, there's always the hope that things are better for people on the flipside.

The half sister also said her youngest was getting married. I remember when he was born. He's twenty something now. Nothing like having kids grow up to remind you how old you are getting.

I watched some videos about the current housing crisis. I guess it made me more appreciative that I have a nice place to live. I think a large part of my life journey is just learning to lower my expectations, on like, everything. And I need to learn to stop putting so much of myself into the things I do. How do you do that? How do people not care? I have a really hard time with that, too.

3:50 PM - Friday, May. 27, 2022

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry