-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a knock at the door

"It's bad enough to feel sad, but to feel guilty for feeling sad, that's the killer."

I still love the movie I Heart Huckabees. That's a line from that movie, and it's true. I know I'm what they now call a Highly Sensitive Person. Things that most people aren't affected by can really devastate me. I've always been made to feel guilty for being so sensitive. It's not bothering anyone else, so why don't you just suck it up and become like everyone else. Right now. At the snap of my fingers. Be like everyone else. Or else.

So, what's it called when you have a memory, it's not repressed, but you are finally able to put meaning to it and understand that because this fucked up shit happened, it made you like this.

And now I see that. And I can try hard to overcome that, change this behavior that was literally forced on me. Finally heal that wound and get back on the path I was meant to be on before some raging asshole stepped and made me take the mother of all detours? Is there a word for that? Or a phrase? I don't know.

2:59 PM - Wednesday, Jun. 02, 2021

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry