-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cleaning up a hard-drive is easier than cleaning up a house

Found this "to do" list I made right before my husband convinced me to sell the house. A list of things we thought we needed to do to start to make the house more comfortable. Removing the carpets and refinishing the hardwood is strangely missing, but that is something we talked about almost every day. Flooring, I guess, is a simplification on that. It was so overwhelming I just put it down as simply 'flooring'.

I see this list and I realize that the house needed so much work and it was overwhelming and honestly beyond our scope. We're just a couple of immature fuckheads, not contractors. No training in handyman shit. We learned everything as we went along, and we learned a lot, but there was so much to do. And the daily aggression from outside, the neighbors, the city...the increasing mental illness. The addictions. Deaths. Just building up until I could do nothing. Some days I couldn't even get out of bed.

I really suck at endings. I hold on for too long to what I have because it's basically the devil I know. Who wants to get to the end and have it suck? It ruins the entire story.

To Do:

Fix foundation
Bathroom
Ceiling fan
Mirror swaps
Sink swap
Clean shower
Re-glue shower
Patch walls
Paint walls
Flooring
Baseboards
Tile backsplash?
Clean out basement
Clean out attic
Clean out garage
Get dumpster for shit
Sell wood/ move wood into garage
Move burning bushes
Fix back fence
Build shelf for copy machine
Get microchip for Shiloh
Take Shiloh outside

1:10 PM - Monday, Aug. 17, 2020

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry