-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jimmy Cliff

I don't see the point in writing here anymore, but here I am. I am not sure if anything I have ever done really matters.

The world maybe isn't ending, but it's changing, and I am stuck here, almost 900 miles from my house, a place that hasn't been my home for about a decade. I'm sick, but not sick like so many others. I'm alone, but I'm with my family.

Everyone here in Colorado says "take care, be safe" and it really seems like they mean it. All the signs on the closed stores say "We love you, be healthy" and I have never been in those stores, but it feels sincere.

Meanwhile in Minnesota, they have block parties the day after they announce county wide emergencies. And I see the photo essays of neighbors hugging and playing touch football and totally NOT following social distancing, and I cry at the stupidity and I am thankful that I am not there right now. And I worry for those people I know there.

The words of Jimmy Cliff come to mind.

Sitting here in limbo, but I know it won't be long.
Sitting here in limbo, like a bird without a song.
Sitting here in limbo, have some time to search my soul
Sitting here in limbo, but I know that I must go...

I don't know where life will lead me
But I know where I've been
I can't say what life will show me
But I know what I've seen....

5:55 PM - Thursday, Mar. 26, 2020

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry