-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Every Day All Day"

Let's not play the blame game
let's stop with the false fixes
you don't even know
man oh man
what I wouldn't do
to feel good right now.
Walking around this town
trying to slim down
replace bad sources of
serotonin dopamine love
with some supposedly good,
replace one addiction
with another more acceptable.
A suburb of itself
hidden government bunkers
under sledding hills
toddlers drinking whiskey
missed connections in the midwest void
the smell of woodsmoke
and lawn chemicals
every day all day every day.
The boxer's fracture
I endured finally healed
but the skin on the surface
there is scarred
there is no such thing as rock bottom
you hit a low point
you bounce up
you fall down again
hit another place this time
even lower
and you keep on until
you just can't anymore.
And if that happens
before you're dead
I guess you win.
I've said
I just can't anymore
so many times
it sounds just like that nursery rhyme
that used to get stress-stuck
in my OCD brain,
Jack and Jill went up the hill
and fell down real hard
every day all day every day
it's all your fault.

9:54 PM - Monday, May. 27, 2019

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry