-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

you're still in america, fool

So husband got back from Denver sick as death. Not a surprise. 24+ hours each way on a bus will make anyone sick. And he said that city was disgusting.

Homelessness is legal there, I guess. They let people just pass out on the sidewalks, anywhere, really. They also let them shit on the street. He said he saw human shit all over the place. He saw one person taking a dump on the street. And he said the whole town smelled like shit.

He said all the alleys had garbage all over them. That all the dumpsters at every store in town were overflowing with garbage and it just blew down the street or down the alley. He was there for almost a week. Maybe they don't pick up the garbage there?

He had fun for about a day and a half enjoying the legal weed trade. Then he started to get sick and for the finale he had about a 26 hour bus ride home. Waiting in bus stations for 6 hours at at time, waiting for the next bus.

I felt bad for him so I drove to Owatonna to pick him up.

That's the town where you switch from the big bus to the small local shuttle to get into town. It's because Rochester is so far off the main interstate, no big buses come here. Owatonna is where the shuttle abandoned me in the middle of winter when my mom died.

So I just picked him up. It's only 50 minutes away, and it only takes that long because about half of the trip is 55 MPH speed limit.

Well, I feel bad his mental health vacation wasn't great. But I guess it gave him perspective about where we are currently living. Even with the legal weed I think Colorado is off the list of places to move for us. And I'm OK with that.

I could have gone with him, but really I had very little desire to go back to Colorado. I remember when we moved to Boulder we got deathly ill right away, too. And it pretty much lasted for the whole year we lived there. It doesn't surprise me that Colorado is still a shithole.

I'm sure if you have some land, it would be OK. But who can afford land there? Not us.

Aside from legal weed, which would be great, I don't think that state has much to offer us.

Mountains. Great. Don't you like the mountains?

Yeah. Mountains where people get lost and have to eat each other to survive.

People used to ask me that all the time when I lived in Boulder and I said I didn't like it.

"Don't you like the mountains?"

No. No I don't. Mountains are scary and full of things that can eat you and it gets freezing at night and there's no air and the trees are weird and you get a sunburn easily and no.

No, I don't like the mountains.

I was so worried about my husband the last two days of his visit I barely slept. Lots of reasons, but mostly I was worried he'd have a seizure and end up in the hospital or his disassociate personality disorder would kick and he would wander off and bad things would happen. Like cops getting involved.

He needs a medical ID necklace or something.

He won't admit how disabled he is, sometimes. And I hate being helpless where I can't do anything to help him out. 1500 miles away or whatever, I'm pretty much just helpless to do anything. So, hopefully he will rethink going on mental health vacations without me. I think going out like this at least gave him perspective about where we live, how we live.

That's what a good vacation should do, I guess.

I'm just glad he's home safe. Maybe now I can get some sleep.

12:39 PM - Friday, Jan. 11, 2019

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry