-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

yeah you betcha

Went out to eat today at a new veggie coffee shop in town.

About fucking time we had one of those!

It's a simple thing, a thing most people take for granted, but it's comforting and lovely and makes me happy.

Thankful we can afford to go out to eat. It wasn't long ago we were scraping up change to go buy some flour so we could make some bread.

The place is a little more expensive than it should be, but it's very yummy. Their faux meat comes from the Herbivorous Butcher in the cities, which I always wanted to try, but couldn't be bothered to go up there just for going out to eat.

The place is called "Old Abe's" which is the guy's name I guess. Abe. He made a wooden cart/ coffee shop that he bikes around to various places in town on certain days of the week in the spring, summer, and fall. And now he turned a tiny little house into a veggie restaurant.

I got a "Poke Bowl" which is vegan ribs, brown rice, edamame, soynuts, walnuts, almonds, pine nuts, dried cherries, pickled shredded cabbage and carrot, and cuke.

And I had an "Ice Zumbro". All their coffee is organic cold brew. This was coffee, chocolate almond milk, choco sauce, hazelnut and cinnamon on ice. Zumbro is the river here in town. And it looks like shit. Usually has a good amount of goose shit floating in it. Like brown muck. Kind of like the drink. It's a joke, I guess. It looks gross. Tastes better than drinking river water, I would assume.

We already picked "our spot". We like to sit facing out the front window to watch the world go by. It's a nice tradition to have. We used to go to another coffee joint here in town. We had a table by the window there, too. It's a bar now. So sad.

Today, we saw a guy biking by with a live bird on his head. He went by pretty fast. I thought it was some sort of small parrot. My husband thought it was a pigeon.

All in all, a nice change from yesterday. Yesterday made me want to do cocaine until I hemorrhaged on the bathroom floor and died. I've never done blow, but yesterday was so fucking awful I was thinking about tracking some down. It's sad how easy that would be to do.

I also wanted to get drunk. I mean, really, really wanted to get drunk. But I didn't. I don't know how I didn't. But I didn't.

And all night long I had nightmares about the neighbors. I strangled one of the fuckers until he almost died, and his head got huge and balloon-like, like some horrible dark cartoon.

So today was a gold star today compared to yesterday, for sure.

5:30 PM - Wednesday, Aug. 22, 2018

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry