-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

good ol' fashioned blizzard

13 inches of snow last night, on top of the 8 or so we already had. 50 MPH winds today. Whiteout conditions even though it has stopped snowing. More snow predicted for tomorrow. And the next day. And next weekend!

All the interstates, highways, byways into town are closed. The US weather service is writing out warnings in ALL CAPS. We're all trapped here, like rats floating on a piece of wood in the ocean.

It's a little scary, for some reason. We used to get snow like this pretty often, but it has been years. Maybe even a decade or more. There are icicles hanging from our roof all the way down to the porch. That's 3 stories tall!

I am thankful the power has stayed on, because we have nowhere to go if the heat went out. Thankful also that I am not working this winter, and it's not really a big deal that we are stuck here. Also thankful that I pressed myself to go food shopping last week even though it was a really bad day, bad experience, bad time to go out. So, we won't have to resort to cannibalism.

Getting cabin fever pretty bad this winter. Been having to stay in for weeks at a time. Literally. No one here except me and my husband and the cat and the rodents in the walls.

No family or friends communications to speak of.

I really do feel very isolated. This is one of those cold, snow-filled Minnesota winters that used to drive settlers mad. I feel like any second this life could turn into a scene from "The Shining".

I wish I had more inspiration to be creative. I'm slowly trying to force myself to do something. Anything. Just to break through the blockage and gain momentum.

No one ever told me life would suck so much, and if they ever had, I wouldn't have believed them.

I should do one of those white paintings. Several samey white paintings. In honor of the shit ton of snow we're having to deal with.

8:12 PM - Sunday, Feb. 24, 2019

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry