-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tension 2013

Went to see NIN on Saturday in St. Paul.

I didn't really let myself expect much. I thought Trent Reznor was just in need of some cash so he'd put out an album and milk the fans for awhile before he retired.

And I was worried my social anxiety was going to ruin the show for me.

But for once in my life, I was actually surprised.

Compared to the friend I went with, who seemed to be going out of her way to make the trip miserable for her husband, I am so totally sane! Social anxiety? What's that? Seriously, compared to this crazy lady I am generic American citizen. It made me feel better about myself. AND it made me see how irrational most of my anxiety and fear is. She over reacted to fucking nothing and if that's how I seem to people, I am going to try harder to overcome this bullshit programming my parents put into my head.

Had to be stuck in a car with two other people for about 4 hours and that was the worst part of the day, but I just didn't let it bother me. Go me!

And the show.

OMG.

So fucking great!!!!!!!

Maybe it just seemed so good because I wasn't expecting anything, but this was the best show I've seen of NIN since Fragility 2001 in Omaha. I've seen them 7 times and this was one the their best shows EVER.

The current band is crazy mad talented. Even the backup singers could wail. Yeah, NIN now has backup singers. It's weird, but good weird. The light show could possibly be the best light show in rock n' roll history. It's just that good.

So happy I got to see this tour. This was the first show of their US tour, and the first time they played 6 new songs from the new album live. It's so cool I got to be in the crowd to hear those songs live for the first time.

I read there were 12,000 people there. I've been to smaller shows with worse crowds. We got to keep our little rave spot stage right like we always try to get every NIN show without being shoved right into the pit.

Had a great view. Great show. Super fun. So glad I got over my shit so I didn't miss this. I hope they put out another album and tour with this same band in the future, because I think this is the best NIN lineup ever.

This is going to be a turning point for me. Not sure if this makes sense to anyone else so I will just say I will take this feeling with me and use it to make a happier life for myself.

3:02 PM - Monday, Sept. 30, 2013

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry