-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

shake the disease

I hate the holidays. We don't celebrate them here. No Thanksgiving with a capital T cuz we try to eat and be thankful every day. And we don't eat birds.

No Christmas, because we are not Christians, and it is just too hypocritical, even for us, to go through the motions and pretend we are just. like. You. And you. And you. And you. And you. Jesus is my homeboy, but I think he would puke his guts out if he came back and saw what people were doing for his so-called birthday.

Going out anymore is almost too difficult. During the holidays, doubly so. A trip to the grocery store requires ingestion of 12 oz of booze, minimum, just to reach some sort of equilibrium after having to come into contact with all those people. Some people pop Xanax. Doctors won't give me a prescription for that because it's "too addictive". Seriously. I must just put out the pheromone of a god damn addict.

Once, at the back of SA, waiting for the husband to get hooked up. His friend said to me: "You are the perfect druggie girlfriend." Meaning, I was the perfect girlfriend for a drug addict. Didn't consider it a compliment then, still don't. Worse, was when I told the husband about this, my husband said, "You kind of are."

Because I'm a live and let live kind of person. I'll walk a mile in your shoes. Because then I will be a mile away and I will have your shoes.

Went to the store today, and paid for almost everything. Almost.

Had to go to mandatory court appearance the day before Thanksgiving for the tickets for shoplifting. The judge we were supposed to have was able to catch an early flight out of town and just left. So all of us who had court at 1PM had to wait over an hour and a half until they could find another judge to fill in.

Seriously. No shit. Must be nice. Wish I had become a cocksucker for a living.

Sitting on the benches in the courthouse reminded me of forced hours on pews at church as a kid. Let's play a quick game of word association. You say God. I say Money.

Anyway, we got a really nice judge. It actually lifted my spirits some. He dismissed my husband's case because he did not actually steal anything, he was just there when I did. And since it was my first offence, and I only got caught with about $12 worth of shit (batteries) the judge lowered my sentence to a petty misdemeanor and gave me lowest fine possible.

A proverbial slap on the wrist and a wag of the finger and a tongue wag to us not to do it again.

Ok. I guess unless I want to be labeled a sociopath and want to be put through EST without my consent I have to start obeying the rules of this society. At least the ones that have monetary consequences.

Been really getting into Depeche Mode lately. Been listening to them for years, but on old warbly tapes. When I get blitzed I like to go on a YouTube trip and watch all these old videos. It helped to finally open up my ears enough to really hear them, and I think this will be the band to help pull me out of this mid-life crisis. Or, as I like to call it, life in general.

6:56 PM - Tuesday, Nov. 27, 2012

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry