-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

activewear 40 per cent off

While my brother was mowing the yard at my parents house, he found a baby turtle!

For almost 50 years my parents turtles had laid eggs from time to time, but none of them ever hatched. My mom would try to incubate them and everything, but none of them ever grew into anything other than a curiosity.

This is just how life is. My mom (and dad) would have been so overjoyed to have a new little turtle. But, ironically, a few months after they both die, one shows up. My brother must have missed the egg when he tore down the pen this summer.

The adult turtles had been shipped off to their new home months ago, and the old turtle pen had been torn up and carted off, but the little guy survived. It's very fortunate that my brother spotted something moving in the grass and didn't mow over it by accident!

It's so small and fragile and...cute. My brother's wife's niece is going to try to raise it. I am not sure if she understands how long a box turtle can live, but I hope the little herp gets to live as long as its parents have.

I heard that the planet can only sustain human life for about twelve more years, if we don't drastically change how much we are harming the environment. That was some projection from some UN research team or something.

Not that we are all going to just drop dead suddenly, but it's obvious to anyone that is even partly awake that things are not going well, and some MAJOR fucking changes need to happen on all levels if we want to continue to exist.

So, the odds of that little turtle living as long as its parents is probably not so good. I personally think there is no future for any of us at all. I would be surprised if I make it into my 70s, let alone my 80s. Or, if I do, I will probably not want to.

But, I am still hoping that something momentous may occur and everything will change. People will start caring about something other than money and prestige and fucking each other like insects.

2:39 PM - Wednesday, Oct. 03, 2018

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry