-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

turtle update

I wake up this morning and find out my brother is giving my mom's turtles to the Des Moines Zoo.

My parents loved animals, but never truly took care of them. They meant well, but they never could get over seeing them as objects instead of beings with a soul.

Guess it's that whole Christian Carnist thing. Part of their generational programming they never really got over.

They "put to sleep" every pet I ever had with exception of a hamster and a guinea pig, which just don't live very long.

Or worse. Snapping the necks of my pet rabbits and making me eat them was pretty traumatic. I mean, why did we give them names and get to know them just so we'd eat them?

But, I think it's good to not kid yourself where your fucking food comes from. I also hate that phrase "put to sleep". They aren't asleep, unless you mean the big sleep. It's fatal injection! Like what they do to murderers in prison. I guess being a domesticated animal in our society is like a death sentence.

I am not happy thinking those poor turtles will be poked and prodded by people, but maybe they won't be able to be touched. I hope not. I hope they will like the attention, and will at least be assigned a caregiver who will feed them daily and check on their health.

Better than being stuck out in a pen in the yard with no companionship whatsoever.

There is no good solution. If I could have moved down there sooner, I would have taken care of them, but my youngest brother is currently stuck caring for them. He has to stop by the house every day after work and he just has too much to do.

I knew that my mom and dad would be gone and we would be stuck taking care of the turtles. I mean, those things can live to be 100 years old or so.

I think after my cat is gone, I won't be having any more pets. The whole ethical idea of "pets" is a grey area, for me. I love animals, and there is nothing like sharing your life with a pet, but I've had animal companions pretty much my whole life.

I'm getting too old to deal with it, or much of anything else, really.

8:43 AM - Tuesday, Jun. 26, 2018

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry