-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

almost spring

First, to clarify about “the turtles” in my last rant. I wasn't just blabbering. My mom and dad have had pet turtles for about 50 years. In the winter they hibernate in trenches in the ground. But, come spring, they have to get brought up. And well, the issue really is who is going to take care of them.

When my mom died my dad was all worried about them, because he couldn't get out in the yard to care for them. My oldest brother's wife really wants them, but my dad said my mom didn't want her to take them. I told my dad I'd be happy to come back down in the spring and bring them home with me to Minnesota. We have a big yard and could bury them in the winter, etc. That seemed to make my dad happy.

But now...I really don't want the responsibility. But we all know those turtles are more than likely going to die if they move into that tiny apartment with my brother the ex-drunk, his drug counselor wife, and their severely ADHD granddaughter that lives with them. They don't see the turtles as living creatures that need special care. They are just cute little things to possess. But, if I move in the next few years, the stress of having to move twice in a short amount of time might kill those turtles as well. I guess they are just doomed, poor things. I think we are all doomed, anyway.

And now, the bad news. I think it's bad. I am not sure. I didn't pass the background check for shit job land so I didn't get that shit job. I've passed background checks for other interviews since my petty misdemeanor got on my record in 2012, but I guess this place is just really uptight. They don't want someone with anything but traffic violations. Good luck with that. So, once again, I am looking for something else. It's OK. I am not ready to go back to work anyway. But, once again, I am getting anxious about money. If I can get a job from one of the many interviews I have scheduled in the next two weeks, that would work out I guess. Or, if the cashiers checks from my parent's estate start coming in, that would be very nice as well. Or both. Let's hope for both.

Or, let's not and say we didn't. Because honestly I need a fucking vacation from my life. My middle brother found a nice way to give himself one. He's back in rehab again. Yeah, yeah, yeah, it's not a resort, it's like prison blah, blah, blah. I don't give a shit. The fact of the matter is, he gets to do nothing but be a narcissistic POS for 30 days. It's all about him.

Why yes, I am an asshole. And I'm OK with that.

See, he could have gone to the ghetto rehab that his insurance would pay for, but NO. He called up my youngest brother and made him pay for the fancy spa rehab. Because he thinks he's too good for that other place.

Here's an idea. Why doesn't he just suck it up and get some discipline and get over himself while out in the real world like the rest of us pathetic motherfuckers have to do. Rehab is a luxury for those who can afford it, or those that have nothing to lose. The rich that get to not worry about the mess that they are leaving behind, or the poor who have nothing in the first place. Just my impression.

He just bought a new puppy, too. If that's not a good enough reason to think of someone other than yourself, I don't know what is. Companion animals have always been a reason for me to not kill myself. To sober up. To get up in the morning. If it's not good enough for him, why does he keep getting more and more of them? He has 2 birds, a cat, and 2 dogs now. Who is taking care of them all right now? Or, maybe he's not really in rehab and he just needed thousands of dollars from my brother.

It is very possible.

Well now, the good news. I got my period, which normally is just an annoyance. However, this time I am down on my knees thanking Kali-ma that I didn't fuck everything up. So I'm going to celebrate by eating a chocolate bunny and doing some sympathetic magic to ensure my creative fertility for this year. But, not my literal fertility. Because if I had a baby, I'd just end up eating it.

As my dad always liked to say, “Eat the Rich.”

8:56 PM - Wednesday, Mar. 14, 2018

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry