-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

no

I remember when people used to care. I remember trying to be good and offering my time freely. I remember reading all the zines people wrote. Listening to music every day. I remember when things were easier and the air cleaner. Dark spots around my eyes change hue. Temperament changing variation with mucous. Living off orange juice and indignation once, now more like cocoa and deceit. Now my hair is mostly grey. Silver, really. I look like the witch in all the old fairy stories told everywhere. Making tea from nightshade root and nettle leaf. Wild roses line my front yard. At night I hear wolves howling from a continent away. I think I could be getting enlightened until I remember where I placed my jealousy. No one's happiness is an important as my own. With that thought, I drown in one hundred and ten proof. Swallow a match and burn from the inside out. I keep transplanting humor from one organ to another. What I find funny depends on the day of the week and which direction I am facing. The north-west wind rips apart theology as well as trees. Three pepper blend on the windowsill to dispel the evil eye during the storms. I remember solidarity with myself and still, it's not enough. Not when no one cares.

3:34 PM - Sunday, Sept. 17, 2017

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry