-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

just a little bit easier

Went for a walk this afternoon. Tried to get some free hostas but they were already gone. We got some organic peppers, though. We went the wrong direction at first-- to 11th Ave instead of 11th street. But we got a nice walk in that way.

As we got closer to home I started to freak out a little. Why? Yes, it was hot (almost 85 degrees) and humid and a bad UV index, but that's not it.

I think it was because I am sober. I am seeing everything differently. So many details. All at once. One house after another-- all the plants and trees and lawn ornaments. Cars in the driveways. Windows. Window curtains. Each house or apartment containing people trying to express their being in a vastly indifferent and purposeless world.

Totally started to freak out. Maybe I got a glimpse of something special. Like retarded special.

Maybe I'm just not used to seeing the world through sober eyes.

Most people freak out on drugs. They can't handle their booze or smoke. I always used to enjoy walking all over town rolling and stoned. It's the sobriety that is hard to get used to.

I hope it gets easier.

5:29 PM - Wednesday, Sept. 21, 2016

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry