-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Scott Weiland

Died last Friday. He was only 48 years old. Only ten years older than me. It's been bumming me out ever since I read the news on Facebook. It feels like when Kurt Cobain died except this time I don't get the impression people care. When popular figures from my youth start dropping dead it makes me feel my own mortality.

Looking back on Stone Temple Pilots videos, how young he looked, and how young I was. I was 16 years old in 1993, when Core was released. My then best friend had a crush to end all crushes on Weiland. When someone pointed out the fact that he was a junkie, she said she could forgive him for that. For some reason I remember that clearly. Made me laugh then, it's still kinda funny.

Nope, haven't listened to his music much in the last ten years. But I really over listened to Tiny Music and 12 Bar Blues. Listened to them both last night, and I still know most of the words even though it's been years since I heard either of those records.

With all the other death that has been occurring much too frequently lately, this one person doesn't really seem to merit much concern. They want us to focus on war and refugees and terrorism terrorism terrorism.

If people felt loss for all humanity like they do for one celebrity, this world would be a vastly different place.

1:13 PM - Monday, Dec. 07, 2015

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry