-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

like blank pages in the stone boat

Never underestimate the ability of parents to make you feel like shit.

I did not realize that I was expected to travel almost 400 miles to put on a fucking school play production slide-show greatest hits moments of your married life.

Sorry what I did wasn't good enough.

But being told it wasn't good enough, and being told I should have bent over backwards through time and space to get it done the way you wanted is insulting. Especially when I was the only one who remembered your anniversary at all!!!!

Anniversaries are between husband and wife, I thought.

Thanks for wishing my brother a happy one, btw, and totally ignoring mine.

Been married for 7 now. Been together for 19.

Granted, it's not as impressive as 50, but I say again:

Anniversaries are between husband and wife, I thought.

One of the last things I said before passing out totally drunk was:

"I am never speaking to my parents again."

Wasn't going to have anything to drink this week. Was looking forward to that clean sharp feeling of sobriety.

So, thanks mom and dad for ruining that for me. For making me want to get so drunk I can't remember my entire day. For making me cry. For giving me the genetics that makes it so I can drink 2 beers and half a bottle of vodka and still be on my feet.

Enjoy the rest of your life.

I won't be there to disappoint you anymore.

12:59 PM - Tuesday, Jun. 18, 2013

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry