-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

welcome to hell

On Thursday night, someone walked into the house, up the stairs, opened their door, and shot someone.

We heard the shot, we heard them running down the stairs. I ran outside to see someone, but I didn't see anyone. They were long gone in less than 2 minutes.

We. had. to. call. 911. Something I said I would never do again. The 911 operator asked if the victim was black or white. I shit you not. My husband yelled back, "What the fuck does that matter, just get an ambulance here NOW." Cops first. Fire department. Then ambulance, about 15 minutes later. Same old routine.

The tenant's brother got shot in the chest, he's going to be ok. Eventually. Everyone else is stressed and scared and confused, but generally ok. It was all so fast, no one even saw who it was. They were all so shocked, they didn't even realize what had happened. No screams, no cries, nothing for about 5 minutes as it sank in. We called up to the top of the stairs a few times until they responded, "I think my brother got shot?"

The moral of all this? Simply, lock your door. So many times I wanted to tell the tenants to, but I didn't want to tell people how to live. I wish I had mentioned it now. Common sense isn't something everyone has, I guess. But, can they really be blamed for being raised by fools?

This event requires some serious contemplation on my part. I'm going to disappear for awhile.

8:54 AM - Sunday, Nov. 01, 2009

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

random entry